SmarterTrack.com Help
This documentation is for a product that is no longer supported by SmarterTools.

Canned Replies Overview

Canned replies are predefined responses for frequently asked questions that can be used to quickly and efficiently respond to tickets and live chats. For example, if a company is experiencing some service interruption, a canned response can be created by management that discretely relays information about the outage, ETA for the service resuming, where to go for more information and more. This makes it easy for front line agents to quickly disseminate information to end users, especially at times when call, ticket and chat volumes can be higher than normal.

To access canned replies, log into the management interface with your agent account. Then click on the Canned Replies icon. All of the canned replies in the root folder that are assigned to a department you belong to will load in the content pane. To view the canned replies that are assigned to your agent account, click on Assigned to Me in the navigation pane.

To better understand the different areas of canned replies, please refer to the diagram below:

SmarterTrack canned replies

Navigating Canned Replies

In general, the following details are available for each canned reply in the content pane:

  • Title - The title of the canned reply.
  • Folder - The location of the canned reply.
  • Assigned To - The agent or department to which the canned reply is assigned. This determines which agents or departments have access to the canned reply.
  • Flags - Whether the canned reply is flagged as a draft or not.

Performing Canned Reply Actions

In gneral the following options are available from the content pane toolbar:

  • New - Creates a new canned reply in the selected folder.
  • Actions - Click this button and select the appropriate option to select all canned replies, move canned replies, copy canned replies or change the status of canned replies.
    • Select All - Selects all canned replies in the content pane.
    • Delete - Deletes the selected knowledge base articles. For more information, see Deleting Canned Replies.
    • Mark - Click this button and select the appropriate option to change the status of (or "flag") the selected canned reply(s).
      • Public - Marks the canned reply as public. Public canned replies are visible to administrators and agents.
      • Draft - Marks the article as a draft. Drafts are only visible to administrators and agents.
    • Move - Moves the selected canned reply(s) to another folder.
    • Copy - Copies the selected canned reply(s) to another folder.
  • View - Refresh - Click this button to force a refresh of the canned replies displayed in the content pane.